2014+ Jeep Cherokee Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

I am a complete layman when it comes to cars, but I recently (6 months ago) bought a 2014 Jeep Cherokee Latitude with about 93,000 miles on it and a Ignition Node Module system instead of a Push-to-Start system.

Recently I have been having trouble with my key fob and it going a bit haywire: sensitive touch, losing ability to unlock, and finally not working at all. I have since concluded that my key FOB has a dead battery. However, During the losing ability to unlock phase, my car also was not recognizing the key being in ignition and not turning on. At first it would just require a second crank, but now it is to the point where it won’t crank up at all.

Does anyone know if the key FOB battery being dead/haywire has anything to do with the car not wanting to start up, or are these two separate issues involving both the node and/or engine and the key FOB?

I should mention that the battery seems to work fine. I can turn on both the interior lights and the exterior lights even when the engine isn’t running.

I can upload a video tomorrow morning if that would help for visualization.

· Registered
13,207 Posts
Hi there and welcome to the forum ;)

Sorry to hear about the problem...

As far as I'm concerned, I have no experience with the key fob battery going dead (I have the same fob you have, no keyless). I can tell you that the vehicle battery has a short life and many here with 2014s have already replaced it. It depends mostly on where you live ; the warmer the climate, the shorter battery life is.

But anyway... I think the first thing you should try is replace the fob battery. Seems as though it needs a CR2032 button battery (those are sold everywhere), and here is a guide :
http://www.paulstravelpictures.com/Jeep-Cherokee-Key-Fob-Battery-Replacement-Guide/index.html