2014+ Jeep Cherokee Forums banner
1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
Blackbird 2019_Limited_4x4 Blk_on_Blk Tech_Lux_Nav
2,400 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any One Have Any Thoughts On HERTZ Component Speakers?
I'm looking at at least upgrading my speakers, and these sounded pretty good to my ear.
I have the 6 speaker system, and am thinking of putting components front and rear, nice that the 6 system already has the grills for the D pillar speakers (and the front center).
So will put the rear tweeters in the D pillar location.

I haven't decided if I want or need to amp them, I'll wait until after I have had the new speakers for awhile.
Since I have the 2.0, I would want to keep the ANC active, so if I do amp the system, I'd rewire for the factory amp, I'm an engineer, so upgrading to the Jeep amp isn't as daunting to me. (I'm keeping an eye out for a used 2019+ factory amp - with pigtails - to pop up)

From a prior post of mine, I did find this interesting tidbit on the UConnect Radio:
I've been toying with updating my 6 speaker 4C Nav, and keeping the ANC. While researching, I found that the head unit 'looks for' the amplifier; If you put the factory amp into the car (fully wired, and on the data bus), you lock the Jeep via the fob (with the windows up) and leave it alone for 5-10 minutes, unlock it with the fob, then you lock the Jeep via the fob a second time (with the windows up) and leave it alone for another 5-10 minutes, unlock it with the fob, and it would be reconfigured to the amp! Reversing this is done the same way. (found this on the PAC-Audio site).

·
Registered
2015 Cherokee Trailhawk
1,078 Posts
I've upgraded my six speakers with all Rockford Fosgate 2-way and didn't realize the true potential until I added an Alpine 4-channel* amplifier. Not quite satisfied (and since the dash speaker depth was insufficient relative to the cover), I felt that the stock covers made the sound seem muffled.