2014+ Jeep Cherokee Forums banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I'm new to Jeep. I bought my first three weeks ago. Jeep Cherokee Limited V6, 4wd. So far, I'm very nervous for its future. I kept getting a message that read, 4wd unavailable, service required. I took it in twice, only to be sent away after the dealership rebooted the software. This time around, I was told I need a new PTU, old term transfer case. Thoughts? Experiences? This is hard to deal with considering my last car was a RAV4 with 160k miles and I never replaced a thing besides brakes twice and tires once. Jeep IS better than this, right?

·
Registered
754 Posts
There have been a few guys around here that have had the PTU replaced, but I don't think too many. If the dealer has isolated the problem and wants to replace the PTU, by all means have him do it. That's what the warranty is for. Don't let that ruin the experience of your new Jeep as all makes have occasional problems and they often pop up early.

I had that same 4wd service light come on several hundred miles ago. It went out by itself and hasn't come back. I took it in to the dealer and they said there were 'erroneous' trouble codes. They cleared them, the light has not come back and all seems to be working fine, but I'm keeping an eye on it.

Reactions: UN4GTBL

·
Premium Member
5,402 Posts
Generally, the PTU and transmission will fail early if defective.
Very complex mechanical equipment. The Manufacturer will generally replace the whole unit if there is a problem. This is especially true on this new Cherokee.
My 3 Jeeps before this one all had no problems other than normal maintenance. That includes front brakes on one after 9 years and and a new rear axle on another that I burned up towing. This new one after 1 year has only had the power seat repaired.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·