2014+ Jeep Cherokee Forums banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

· Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys

I'm hoping someone can figure this out.

I have a 2015 TH but it did not come with the homelink. So I got a 2014 Sun Visor with the homelink and swapped the visors.

The 2014 visor vanity lights work but the homelink led does not. (no matter what button is pushed or even when trying to erase the previous programming)
The led just will not light up!

The dots on the buttons seem to be ever so slightly illuminated but I need to cover them with my hands so I can actually see it. When I press a button, that illumination turns off for all the buttons. I pressed each button and they all seem to kill the illumination on all the buttons

I have plugged in the 2014 visor on the passenger side as well since it has the 3 pin connector as well.

There was a link from techauthority that gave schematics on wiring but it does not appear to be working anymore :(

I keep thinking that the homelink module is not getting power but I have no sure way to test it. I hooked up a cheap 12V battery to the visor and the vanity lights work but I get nothing from the homelink. Of course in this case I am only powering 2 of the 3 pins.

I am beginning to think that the module is dead or the wiring in the visor is messed up. I tried to split open the visor but I can't bring myself to wreck it even more. I have removed the vanity light shell and was able to look inside the visor a bit and I see 3 wires (1 red, 2 white) going into the module and they look fine from the angle I could see from.

I am losing my mind not being able to get this working. Does anyone have any ideas?
I was also wondering if they switched the wiring/polarity on the connectors between 2014 and 2015?
I was going to do a makeshift jumper wires and switch the polarity on the pins but then I accidentally let the wires touch and I blew a fuse. Got so mad that I had to go get a fuse that I didn't end up finishing that test.

Hoping someone can give some insight.
 

· Premium Member
Joined
·
5,403 Posts
Assuming it is a stand alone unit and not communicating with the vehicle's onboard computers like u-connect:
I would give this link a try about installing a Home Link unit.
It might give you some ideas.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nu7TPNW0Tik

I never really noticed the leds light up on my home link.
Have you read the programing guide in the owners manual?
As far as working, have you tried to program it to the garage door to see if you can get it to work?
Generally if you do not know what you are doing the outcome will not be good.
If you use jumper wires to switch polarity then you defiantly do not know what you are doing. You risk doing damage to the unit and maybe to your vehicle.
I would just have hooked it up and seen if I could program it. If not then its a more involved install than you might want to get involved in.
In short, if you plug it in with all available wires/connectors and it is plug and play it should work, unless it needs programming from the vehicle.
Also just because it has 3 wires does not mean that it is using all 3 wires. That 3rd wire might be for the home link which is not programed for "your" vehicle.

Another suggestion would be to talk to your service department if it is possible to install home link in your trail hawk. That should give the answer if it is a free standing unit or needs to be installed.
Good Luck
 
  • Like
Reactions: dhh3

· Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for your response.
Reversing polarity was a thought if they reversed polarity between the '14 and '15 models. It's called testing/trial and error and yes there is a risk involved.

Yes I've watched that video before.
Yes I have read the owners manual
Yes I have tried erasing the codes with the key out, key on ACC, and with the engine started
Yes I have tried programming the button with the visor plugged in with the key out, key on ACC, and with the engine started

I have spent days doing research and could not find anything else so thought I would ask everyone

From what I can ascertain, the homelink module for the TH is a standalone unit similar to the video link you posted.
Some Audi models, had the transmitter in the bumper and the buttons on the visor. The TH appears to be an all-in-1 unit in the visor.

Benny from MoparOnline had already posted that this is a standalone unit for the TH and that there is no dealer programming required.

What my situation is, is a 2014 visor being installed in a 2015 TH. I don't expect there to be a change in wiring or integration but you never know of the subtle things they may change from one year to the next.
 

· Premium Member
Joined
·
5,403 Posts
Then it should work as is.
Another issue might be your actual Garage door opener unit.
Depending on the unit pre 1995 or post 1995 and/or rolling code equipped programming might be different to impossible depending on brand.
I know it was a bit of a struggle for me, as I had to try several times till I was successful. It was a bit different than my last Jeep and that "bit" will cause it to not work.
It is highly doubtful that the visor was defective though possible.

I did look at my Link unit yesterday. The two buttons that are programmed light up bright when pushed. The one that I have not programmed has a weak light when pushed. So by your description and what mine does is that yours is not programing for some reason. If I remember correctly there is very specific programming sequence required for particular equipment.
Good luck in your quest.
Let us know the result.
 
  • Like
Reactions: dhh3

· Registered
Joined
·
346 Posts
Going from my own experience setting it up, I would also suspect the issue is probably with the Garage Opener itself, and not the Homelink. I tried several times to program it before digging out my garage opener manual and realizing that it had a special programming button that needed to be pressed prior to accepting any new codes as part of its security. It also had a timeout function, so I got to look ridiculous pressing the darned button, jumping off my ladder, and running back over to the Jeep several times that evening.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks Jeepster1. Good to know that the button does not really light up if it's not programmed.
I installed everything again and I tried to program all of the buttons but still nothing.

The problem is that regardless if I try to program a button or just press a button as though it was programmed, I get NO LIGHT AT ALL.
This is where I have been focusing on. Even trying to erase whatever programming (holding the 1 and 3 buttons for 20s) is in the module is not working. No lights what so ever.

I called the dealer and the service manager confirmed that its a standalone unit and no programming from the dealership is required.

I think I need to get my hands on another homelink module to see if mine is really dead. Unless someone else has any other idea how to test this module.

Or maybe the visor could have been shorted out as I saw an older thread today where a 2014 TH had some shorting issues that the dealer fixed and replaced the visor. It seemed to be a problem with the Grand Cherokees and Durangos Headliners and visor wiring.

And Colin, I can't even get to that stage you are talking about because as mentioned before, I can't get any lights on the homelink working.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Hi guys, I have been working with exported version of Jeep Grand Cherokee. The exported version has similar behavior because when I install overhead console with homelink only cars 2012 and beyond work. I have Gk 2014 and I installed overhead console with homelink, no light is present when you presee I, II or III boton. I thought maybe was a wire issue. Then I went to the local representative and as we can expect no idea what was the problem. So I called a friend who used to work with chrysler dealer. He took a big manual and looked up for this feature. At the end, he install a special computer under the dash and he called a guy at jeep factory. They asked for vin and sent a special upgrade for my vin. He download the upgrade and wuala homelink is working as expected.

Why? Because of canbus over bodycomputer. Body computer must be set up to provide functionality to the homelink module.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
32 Posts
Any updates on this?? My 2014 TH I recently purchased does not have the homelink visor and I hate having to carry around the remotes for 2 different houses. Really want to add the homelink visor does it work after just swapping it out or do you need to do anything special?
Thanks.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Overhead Console Jeep Grand Cherokee 2013+

I used to have GC Overland 2012. I added sucessfully HomeLink changing the console. I bought a used one same trim and color. Works perfect.

BUT

I moved to GC Overland 2014 unit, and Homelink is desactivated for ever from main body computer. If you install a console with Homelink or UGDO, it won't light up at all.

The console 16 pin conector, has a wire maps and shows pin 2 as UGDO enable control.

1 A413 FUSED B(+) 18 RD WT
2 G38 UGDO ENABLE CONTROL CIRCUIT 22 GY
3 E12 PANEL LAMPS DRIVER 22 OR GY
4 N0
5 Z923 GROUND 22 BK
6 N0
7 M24 COURTESY LAMPS DRIVER 22 YL WT
8 M27 READING LAMPS DRIVER 22 YL LB
9 Q3 SUNROOF OPEN SWITCH SENSE 22 OR DG
10 Q4 SUNROOF VENT SWITCH SENSE 22 OR YL
11 Q5 SUNROOF CLOSE SWITCH SENSE 22 OR LB
12 Q6 SUNROOF SWITCH SUPPLY 22 OR LG
13 Q56 CNV - SUNROOF_SHADE_PWR_CLOSE_(+) 22 OR VT
14 Q556 CNV - SUNROOF_SHADE_PWR_OPEN_(+) 22 OR GY
15 G25 DECKLID/LIFTGATE RELEASE SWITCH SENSE 22 VT TN
16 Z919 GROUND 22 BK

Can sonebody rescue us, explaing how we can activate homelink using this pin layouts?


Any updates on this?? My 2014 TH I recently purchased does not have the homelink visor and I hate having to carry around the remotes for 2 different houses. Really want to add the homelink visor does it work after just swapping it out or do you need to do anything special?
Thanks.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
2,602 Posts
Two posts say that no Dealer Activation is necessary. This may not be the case. On my 2014 Journey Crossroad, I wanted to add Auto Lights. After research, I found out that all I needed was the correct sensor (the little round thing in the center of the dash) and the correct light switch. Purchased both, but in Auto position, the lights were on all the time. After further research, even though I had the correct parts, I did not have the Auto Lights Sales Code on my DJ. The Sales Code has to be added, and then activated in order for them to work correctly. This may be the same for Homelink, as it is, as stated, a stand alone unit.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Bringing thread back from the dead as I am in the middle of doing the same thing. I purchased a 2015 Limited Visor for my 2017 Latitude. Same issue, plug it in, vanity works, homelink lights are not on when pressing the buttons. Looking at the two visors my original one had two pins and the new one has three. This got me thinking that additional pin must be Vin to HL circuit. Looking at harness form headliner I see three wires - yellow/orange, black and gray (from right to left). Black is obviously ground and yellow is connected on old visor. Measured the voltage across yellow/orange and black I read 12V, do the same across gray and black and read 0. My guess is Jeep leaves the wiring together and there is a setting to cut off power or not, depending on the package you purchased. Tonight I will jump yellow/orange wire to the new pin on new visor and report back. If that works, I will probably put and inline tap on yellow/orange one end. Cut grey and solder jumper to that line.

Let me know if anyone else has completed this swap yet.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Just an update; I can't get the visor to work. I tried powering third pin with battery and still no results. I measure the voltage out of third pin while power visor and I see 11V with a jump to battery voltage when pushing buttons. This was pretty clear to me it was sending a signal elsewhere in the car. I then found this little thread http://www.justanswer.com/chrysler/62w3v-chrysler-jeep-wrangler-4dr-best-source-add.html.

Long story short, it appears these units are not stand alone in the visor. If they are, well Jeep has done a good job of making it hard to use without the package purchased.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
THE INFORMATION YOU SEEK:
I too installed a HomeLink visor and get the exact same thing. I went to the dealership and asked them if the visor was the only part needed and they pulled up the electrical schematics for me. The three wires that go into the visor are 12vdc (yellow/lt green), ground (black), and one labeled UGDO enable control circuit (grey). That last one runs to the Body Control Module right behind the little cubby door by the driver's left knee. The drawing show there to be a UGDO circuit board inside. I'm half tempted to pull that box out of there and see what I can see inside of it. I can't see whoever manufactured that box to have separate production lines for those with and without the HomeLink.
 

Attachments

· Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
THE INFORMATION YOU SEEK:
I too installed a HomeLink visor and get the exact same thing. I went to the dealership and asked them if the visor was the only part needed and they pulled up the electrical schematics for me. The three wires that go into the visor are 12vdc (yellow/lt green), ground (black), and one labeled UGDO enable control circuit (grey). That last one runs to the Body Control Module right behind the little cubby door by the driver's left knee. The drawing show there to be a UGDO circuit board inside. I'm half tempted to pull that box out of there and see what I can see inside of it. I can't see whoever manufactured that box to have separate production lines for those with and without the HomeLink.
Thanks Yoshimaru for schematic and the leg work, I figured something like this was going on. So I assume this is still self-contained with RF module, but the BCM is incorrect. I wonder if you can swap that out.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Hey, I made an account just to post this! I have a 2015 Chrysler 200 Limited and they do not have the option for HomeLink. Only the 200C. I purchased a visor and just like many of you saw three connections and was like sweet it will work! But it didn't. It got me to thinking about the Diagram posted above with the UGDO Enable Circuit. I assume only cars that come with HomeLink have that circuit and that is why when we try to add HL it does not work. Turns out that control wire just needs to see ground to activate HL. So ground the wire and you are good to go!

TL;DR: Cut the gray wire, cap the end that goes into the headliner then ground the other end to the black wire and it will work.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Hey, I made an account just to post this! I have a 2015 Chrysler 200 Limited and they do not have the option for HomeLink. Only the 200C. I purchased a visor and just like many of you saw three connections and was like sweet it will work! But it didn't. It got me to thinking about the Diagram posted above with the UGDO Enable Circuit. I assume only cars that come with HomeLink have that circuit and that is why when we try to add HL it does not work. Turns out that control wire just needs to see ground to activate HL. So ground the wire and you are good to go!

TL;DR: Cut the gray wire, cap the end that goes into the headliner then ground the other end to the black wire and it will work.
You rock. This should be the new go to method for making this hack. Thanks for the tip; I must have tried everything but this. It indeed works on the KL and I suggest making the rewire on the visor side for anyone contemplating this as well.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
195 Posts
Got to say I am impressed. The sales at the salvage yards should be brisk!
Yep picked one up last week for 35 bucks, should be here tomorrow, will install next week and hopefully all goes good. Where did anyone ground the black to?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Duke2015

· Registered
Joined
·
195 Posts
Yep picked one up last week for 35 bucks, should be here tomorrow, will install next week and hopefully all goes good. Where did anyone ground the black to?


After re reading post I see the end of gray coming from unit grounds to black wire. Correct? I got the visor today and just needed a cleaning. Does the homelink unit come off allowing access to wires to make it easier?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
1 - 20 of 35 Posts
Top