2014+ Jeep Cherokee Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Premium Member
687 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dang - this forum seems a little bit dead. I live in Arlington and just picked up a TH. I bought this thing to go off-roading and see things from a different angle. I'm new to the sport/hobby, having only banged up HMMWVs. Looking to learn!

I guess this is a pretty open ended question, but does anyone in the area know of any good trails to start out on? Or a club? A quick Google search turned up a few clubs, but they seem defunct. I figure there has GOT to be stuff out in the Shenandoah... around Old Rag, White Oak, Loft Mt?

Any help would be awesome... or a meet up!

· Registered
130 Posts
Be more specific where you are from.

But I live in Iowa and the first thing I did was go on the IOWA DOT site and looked for level B (earthen) roads in my county. I have been having a lot of fun on them. Especially when they are muddy. And they do get muddy. The DOT web site for your state will have county maps of all of the roads.

So get online and see if you can find any in your area and try it out and don't get stuck!! :)

· Registered
391 Posts
Dang - this forum seems a little bit dead. I live in Arlington and just picked up a TH. I bought this thing to go off-roading and see things from a different angle. I'm new to the sport/hobby, having only banged up HMMWVs. Looking to learn!

I guess this is a pretty open ended question, but does anyone in the area know of any good trails to start out on? Or a club? A quick Google search turned up a few clubs, but they seem defunct. I figure there has GOT to be stuff out in the Shenandoah... around Old Rag, White Oak, Loft Mt?

Any help would be awesome... or a meet up!
Have a Facebook page?? If not I'll private message the next time my buddies go out... Peters mill has a trail. There is an off road park in Woodbridge that has newbie runs as well.

Reactions: MarinR00

· Premium Member
687 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·