2014+ Jeep Cherokee Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
I recently acquired a Midland MXT275 for free. I have no experience with radios, I know there is a lot to learn, but for now let me just ask about where to mount it. Where do folks normally mount their radios? Is there a preferred location, and why? I'd like to do it on the headliner just to keep things down below uncluttered. But I don't know if there is such a solution for KLs. Ease of routing the antenna wire is also a consideration. What say you guys?

Sent from my SM-G998U using Tapatalk

Registered
I recently acquired a Midland MXT275 for free. I have no experience with radios, I know there is a lot to learn, but for now let me just ask about where to mount it. Where do folks normally mount their radios? Is there a preferred location, and why? I'd like to do it on the headliner just to keep things down below uncluttered. But I don't know if there is such a solution for KLs. Ease of routing the antenna wire is also a consideration. What say you guys?

Sent from my SM-G998U using Tapatalk
Long time, no see man!!! I can't help you with that, I just carry a walkie in the Trailhawk, but I'm sure someone has the hookup. Good to see you back...馃槑

Registered
I just stuff mine (MXT105) down between the passenger seat cushion and the center console.
Run the antenna cable between the right rear door and the door opening so as not to crush the cable.
Put the magnet mount in the center of the roof.
Lay the microphone in the passenger seat or wherever is convenient.
Plug the power plug into a y-cable extension which plugs into the armrest cubby.
So far I haven't talked to anybody. Have a Call Sign.

Registered
Report back when you get it installed, I have a Midland MTX400 on the way to compliment my CB communications. I will be looking for a clean install place in the meantime.