2014+ Jeep Cherokee Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello fellow KL'rs.

I've seen some interest on the facebook KL Group I'm in, and on here for the project I finished up a week ago.

I got a new job that's one week on, one week off. With that said, I'll finally have more time to travel and with a jumping off point of Denver I'm smack dab in the middle of alot of places I've wanted to visit. So I was thinking of how to make these trips as cost effective as possible while being able to be able to camp anywhere, I decided to see if I can make the Jeep a friendly sleeper similar to what I see TONS of other people in CO do with their 4runners, pickup campers, and vans.
I have never worked with wood before this. I accomplished everything I needed with only a miter saw, miter box, and drill. So don't' feel like you can't do this! I just learned as I did it.

With that said I own a 2105 KL Trailhawk in dark blue. Bought it in early 2019 with 53k miles on it, currently at 75k. I've since added an MFC 2" lift, 255/75/17 BFG KO2's, Thule Crossbars and a Yakima Offgrid roof rack.
I have a RRO winch mount/bumper sitting in the garage just waiting on a winch...one of these days.

Land vehicle Car Vehicle Tire Wheel

I wheel the Jeep pretty hard on CO trails, more so to get to remote campsites, and it's held up remarkably fine. Although I'm always wondering "Is this the trip where my PTU grenades itself?" But, so far so good.

A few things I had in mind for the project;
-I knew I wanted more storage, and room for at least myself and my dog, and in the future enough room for me, my partner, and my dog.
-Everything has to be removable/Nothing permanent
-Using my remote start if I get too cold I just warm up the vehicle and go back to bed.