2014+ Jeep Cherokee Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So let me first say I know some individuals will say this is bad and it’s for fuel economy and so on. I have been running this mod for about 3 months now and from the research I did most people stayed it is for fuel economy more then anything.

This is not a how-to but I will do one if there is enough interest.
I just wanted to advise people that is able to be done with no CEL.

I completed this mod and have put multiple long and short drives on it. I will say this my mileage in town did take a drop slightly suffering about 10-12 miles out of a tank and highway mileage remained exactly the same. The benefit though is that in City my engine temp went down on average 8-10 Degress and about 12- 14/15 highway. The transmission temp went down about 6-8 in the city and 9-11 on the highway.
Now I will contribute some of the gas mileage on me moving from 18’s to 17’s on my wheels to allow bigger tires. I would also contribute some of the some of lower some of the transmission low temp to be from the lift I put on.
I also removed the bottom engine cover and had it rhino lined.

Now for what I did. I didn’t remove just the Fins. I remove the whole assembly out of the bumper (that thing actually weighs quite a bit. I did have to pull the motor out of the ags assembly (that you must keep)

If people are interested in this post for me to complete a (How-To) I will. I won’t be able to show you how to remove the assembly cause mines long gone lol. But I can show you what to do with the motor itself to make it work and have no CEL.

Oh I’m sorry I drive a 2014 Limited 2.4L

Please ask any questions you may have.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
761 Posts
I didn't know any Cherokees have the active grill shutters. :huh:

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #5